Hernando, Miss. (August 1, 2018):  Thanks to the generosity of donors in Northwest Mississippi, the Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi recently awarded $24,250 to twenty-four deserving students.  Since inception the Community Foundation, through its generous donors, has awarded $274,360 in scholarships.

“The Community Foundation has 22 scholarships funds all set up by donors who want to invest in the future by helping deserving students pursue higher education,” said Tom Pittman, President and CEO of the Community Foundation.  “Donors set up scholarship funds for a variety of reasons, including to honor or memorialize a loved one; to support a particular field of study; to recognize a specific academic institution; or to benefit a particular student population.”

“As the cost of college continues to rise, so does the need of many students, “said Joe Azar, Chairman of the Board of Directors.  “We appreciate our generous donors who want to make a difference in the lives of students in our eleven counties today and for generations to come.”

Scholarship recipients are listed in alphabetical order by the name of the Scholarship Fund.

Al Gilless Southaven Rotary Endowed Scholarship: The only charter member still active with the Southaven Rotary Club, Al Gilless, created the scholarship Endowment to help graduates of Southaven, DeSoto Central, Horn Lake, and Northpoint Christian high schools. The 2018 Scholarships go to Jonathan Trimm, Millie Lee, Gregory Leland Jr., Skylar Russell, Juan Carlos Alvarado-Arguello in the amount of $1,500 each.

Byron Keith Mallett, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship fund was created in memory of Byron Keith Mallett, Jr. who passed away in 2013 at the young age of 13 due to a tragic accident.  Through this endowed scholarship his name and life will never be forgotten.  This scholarship was set up for students of Lake Cormorant High School.  This year’s scholarship recipient is Jean Claire Birkenstock in the amount of $1,000.

Charles M. George Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship was established in the loving memory of long time West Tallahatchie Schools Superintendent Charles M. George. The scholarship is available for West Tallahatchie High School seniors. This year’s scholarship went to LaPlayer Brown in the amount of $500.

Cindy Lipscomb/DeSoto Prayer Council: This scholarship fund, open to all seniors in DeSoto County, was established in Spring 2007 by The Desoto County Prayer Council. The Council changed the name of the scholarship to the Cindy Lipscomb scholarship after her untimely death and in recognition of her leadership at the Prayer Council.  This year’s scholarship went to Zachary Mahan in the amount of $1,000.

David Haire Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship was established in 2014, in loving memory of David Haire who was an Eagle Scout and a member of Southward Drum and Bugle Corps.  This scholarship is available to all DeSoto County high school seniors in band. Each year’s recipient is invited to play in the Southaven Wind Symphony’s sprint concert. This year’s recipient Sabrina Brasher has awarded $1,000.

Hernando Rotary Vaiden Scholarship: This fund was established by Katherine Vaiden in memory of her beloved husband, Leonard Vaiden, who loved the Rotary Club. The scholarship is eligible to Hernando high school seniors or prospective college students.  This year’s recipients are Charles Brinkley and Amanda Cary who will receive $1,000 each.

The Hope Scholarship: This scholarship was established in 2017 by an anonymous donor who wanted to make sure his investment helps outstanding Hernando High School graduates attend and graduate from college. The recipients are Ronni Michelle Allen and Hayes Wolfe and they will receive $3,000 each.

Kinloch Gill, Jr. Scholarship Endowment: This scholarship was set up in loving memory of Kinloch Gill Jr., who was a member of the Senatobia High Class of 1952.  During his time at Senatobia High, he was involved in multiple extracurricular activities, including serving as president of his class, member of the football team and drum major of the band.  He also was editor of the school newspaper.  He received his Ph.D. from Ole Miss and was a leader in mental health services in the state of MS.  This year’s recipients are Rylee Robison, Addison McNail, Anna King, and Jakeria Wilson; each recipient will receive $250.

Mattie Brassall Memorial Scholarship: This fund was established by Dr. Robert and Shirley Seymour in honor of Mattie Brassell who took care of their home and child and was considered a family member.  The scholarship is eligible to young people of Second Baptist Church in Hernando.  This year’s recipient is Ryan Shaw who will receive $250.

Olive Twigs Hospitality Scholarship:  The Olive Twig Hospitality Group set up this fund for charitable needs in Olive Branch and DeSoto County focusing on community and youth.  This year’s recipients include Flannery Reese Egner, Skylar Russel, Grant Wood, Holly Ingram, Diandra Biggs in the amount of $1,000 each. 

Optimist Club of Hernando Scholarship: The Club, chartered in 1987, established an endowment in 2013. This scholarship is available to deserving high school students in the Hernando area. This year’s recipients are Samuel Bradley Wallace and Ana Kimberlee Green who will receive $1,500 each.

RxReady Scholarship: This fund was established by Memphis Clinical Pharmacist, Patrice Pritchett, and her husband Antonio. The RxReady Scholarship goes to eligible Bolivar County seniors who are entering the healthcare field. This year’s recipient is Kaylin Winters who will receive $1,000.

Theron Long Memorial Scholarship: This fund was established by an anonymous donor to honor the legacy of Theron Long who passed away in May of 2017. Theron worked for DeSoto County schools for 44 years as an educator, administrator, teacher, coach, and principal. He was inducted into the Mississippi Coaches Hall of Fame in 2004, winning 25 titles. He was also the State President of the Association of Secondary School Principals. This year’s recipient is Ronni Michelle Allen who will receive $500.

Win Winogrond Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship was established by Mark Winogrond in memory of his older brother, Henry “Win” Winogrond, Jr., who passed away in Clarksdale in 2014. It is available to an outstanding graduate of Coahoma Community College to complete a four-year degree at a college of the recipient’s choice. This year’s recipient is Shirley Johnson who will receive $9,000.

The Community Foundation manages 240 donor-established funds and has disbursed over $20 million to support more than 420 charitable organizations and activities recommended by its donors, as well as charitable programs established by the foundation.  Established in 2002 with a generous grant from the Maddox Foundation, the Community Foundation is an independent 501(c)3 charitable organization. The Foundation serves Bolivar, Coahoma, DeSoto, Leflore, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, and Tunica counties.  A board of 19 volunteer civic leaders governs the Community Foundation.  Learn more about the Community Foundation at www.cfnm.org or call 662.449.5002.